Today just sucked, but maybe in a good way…

I normally don’t call to check on my schedule at work. It is known I have the weekends off for family stuff and obligations. During the week, the only time I want a day off is if I ask for it. And Bossman said that when Hubby lost his job he’d do whatever I needed to help. That lasted all of two weeks. He went and hired a shit load of people, and then cut back everyone’s hours. So I’m not nearly as pissed as I should be, since I’m not the only one. But I’m pissed enough that I’m going to go ahead and see about a job change. UPS in our area is hiring for a great many things, and one thing that has attracted me is this:

DESCRIPTION

UPS is hiring individuals to work as part-time Package Handlers. This is a physical, fast-paced position that involves continual lifting, lowering and sliding packages that typically weigh 25 – 35 lbs. and may weigh up to 70 lbs. Part-time employees usually work 3 ½ – 4 hours each weekday (Monday through Friday) and typically do not work on weekends or selected holidays.

Package Handlers receive an hourly rate of $8.50 – $9.50. UPS part-time employees also receive an attractive benefits package. Please note that these opportunities are part-time only working approximately 17 1/2 – 20 hours per week. Employees can expect to take home between $110.00 and $150.00 each week after deductions have been taken for taxes, etc.

That is from the UPS career website. I think I can live with that. Get paid a little more than what I am now and work less hours and get more out of the job. and they just asked me this —>

SHIFT AVAILABILITY

 

Please designate the shift that you would be available to work.*

You MUST be available to work within the times listed for the shift.

Please select only the shift that is your first choice.

Available? Shift Hours (approx.) Workdays  
Sunrise/Preload 4:00 AM – 9:00 AM Monday – Friday

 

Methinks the answer is an astounding yes! *steps away for a minute*

Ok, I’m back. Yes, I’ve been filling out the application for UPS while doing this. So far the word from the site is they don’t have any openings, even though they are still listing it. And then again, it’s listed as pending, so they may be going over stuff. I’m checking over everything to make sure its all filled out ok. So here’s hoping.

In other news, I did the Physical Challenge and my workout today. I gained a little weight, but it’s still early and it’s been chaotic lately. So I’m not too upset, that and when you start building muscle mass back up you tend to gain some weight. And I have been been working on building the leg muscles back. Still going to keep up with it. I think the only way I’ll let myself get discouraged with it is if after another month or two of me keeping up with the workout schedule and there is no progress. Then I’ll be upset and taking a long hard look at what I’m doing. My cardio went down, as did my lower body strength, but my upper body and core body strengths all went up, and as always my flexibility stayed the same. So there is still progress.

Ok, need to get off here so I can get some housework done and maybe have a nice quiet night tonight. Will need it. We have 300 kids comming in tomorrow and almost as many the next day. Tomorrow’s manager already ok’d me heading in a little early to help with the prep and stuff. May do the same for Thursday if I can.

Leave a Reply

