Shameless Plug :D.

As you know (or should know) I am a huge fan of Rooster Teeth Productions (link to your right ——>). Well, the guys have been putting out a lot of stuff lately, after being kind of quiet. We’d maybe get a short here or a BTS look there. Well, in the past two months they’ve pushed out several RT Shorts (live action film shorts that are funny), finally have done a regular release for their Drunk Tank Podcast (it shows that they are definitely guys I’d love to sit around with and chat it up) and now for the biggest and best news! The new Red vs Blue season (#7!) started last night. And about damn time too! I’ve watched it twice so far, with at least three more today :). I love it. It’s fun and not too demanding in the thought process to start with, but gives you enough to know that something is up and we should find out soon. And I heart Sarge. And Caboose. And Griff. And Simmions. And poor Lopez. I’m glad Burnie Burns (the head honcho there) decided to go ahead and set a weekly time when the show is to be released. I know have something to look forward to each week. And it seems that my keeping my Sponsor status with the site has paid off, as I got an early release for the episode and a cameo with the character Jenkins (from season 5!). Love my RoosterTeeth.

I know not everybody loves Halo (the video game) and not everybody is into machinima, but if you haven’t had a chance to check this series out, please do. Seriously, I got into Halo because of these guys! There’s a lot of catching up with 5 seasons, but they have all the season on the site, granted you have to be a Sponsor to have access to all of them at once (they have the earlier seasons as part of a rolling archive), but you can also pick up their DVDs and look on iTunes and Zune and they even have their own channel on You Tube. So lots of places to check them out at. And besides the web series’ they have, the site has it’s own comic series that is a lot of fun to read. They also have, for the serious gamer, Achievement Hunter, which is a branch off the main site. They have all kinds of info on games (360, PS3, Wii, etc) and will post videos on different tips on how to do a certain thing in a game. It’s been helpful a few times. There is just a lot to do at the website and the community there is huge and everybody is pretty cool. Forums, blogs, pictures, videos, Griffball, and much more is over there.

A warning though. As a parent of a 15 and a 10 year old, I feel I do have to do this. The site and the content therein are not kid friendly. Yes, I have let my daughters watch Red vs Blue, with strict supervision. Perhaps not the greatest thing I ever did, but I figure if I allow them the occasional inappropriate thing, it will satisfy their cravings as kids and then I can control just what it is they see and hear they shouldn’t. That and they have yet to see seasons 1 & 2. Those I’ve deemed as pretty potty mouthed (and not just your run of the mill cussing. Two of my brothers were sailors, my father-in-law was one and I married one, I thought I’d heard it all!) so they aren’t allowed those yet. The Oldest, maybe, will be able to see them soon. The Youngest, not for a while yet. So if you have kids, you have been warned.

I know, it sounds like one big infomercial up there, doesn’t it? Well, after the day I had yesterday, I owe them big for brightening my day when I saw the new episode. So, a big huge thanks to my RT guys! Love you all!

In other news, yesterday sucked. The Boss was all over the place, boarding on Bi-Polar. And then he got mad when we ignored his tantrums and he got worse. Still no reason behind my cut hours, though. I talked with one of the other managers and she has no idea why he’s doing this. Especially when he said he’d help us out as much as he could. Others are starting to get their hours back and I still only have two days. I am on call of a sorts though. One of my co-workers is a bit older and has been having problems with her back, and she said that if I didn’t mind she’d call me if she didn’t feel she could make it in. I jumped all over that. Besides, I like her and we are helping each other out this way.

But even after the Boss left for the day (thankfully it was his early day) it seemed we had moronic customers. The later it got in the day the worse they all seemed to get. I can usually keep my cool with them, but it was steadily becoming more difficult as the day wore on and I was bombarded with idiot after idiot. I don’t like advertising online where I work, mainly because I know they have people that search the web for blogs, etc to see what people are saying (customer research) and I know I’d get fired and possibly even a law suit with how I rant and rave about my restaurant. So the name will go unnamed, but do know it is a Fast Food Chain. I used to be the Crew Trainer there (long story) and so I would be helping to make sure that the crew knew what they were doing, but all I seem to do anymore is paperwork, and from my understanding they have phased out that position anyway. So oh well. But when I’m not messing with that, I’m opening the store and I normally work the Drive Thru. I’m not the fastest, but I pride myself on accuracy and being able to handle the customers with some respect and ease. That and I’m so careful about my register that they don’t have to worry about cash shortages from me. But anyway, here are a list of things that you should NOT do when going through a Drive Thru (and yes, a lot of them happened yesterday):

  1. Yell into the speaker. Even if we ask you to repeat yourself. This makes it even harder for us to understand what you are saying. A little bit above average speaking tone is very good for us to understand you. And if we ask you to repeat yourself, it is usually to make sure we heard you right or we have a Boss who is rude and inconsiderate of us all and demands our attention even when we are working with a customer. And speaking quietly applies to this as well.
  2. If you own a diesel truck or a loud car/truck, don’t come through the Drive Thru. And don’t get mad at us if we tell you to turn your vehicle off. If you do, it’s your fault you got chicken instead of beef. And you may have ruined the customer in front of you and the one behind you’s order. We cannot hear anything over the loud engines and the diesels are just loud.
  3. Cellphones. I have one. I use it instead of a Landline phone. It’s pretty neat to talk and drive at the same time. Don’t, I repeat DON’T talk on it while going through the drive thru. Did you know that the majority of Drive Thru speakers are automatic and we cannot shut it off so long as your car is on the trip for it? Did you know that we don’t really care to hear your conversations and I have no doubt that you really don’t want us to hear what you are talking about. Especially the personal stuff. The TMI stuff. The stuff you’d be embarrassed to know someone else heard it. We also ask that you don’t talk on them while we are trying to get your order. We can make exceptions if you are calling to confirm someone’s order, but we’d prefer you to go inside for stuff like that. You see, we have this thing called Service Time and we have to have each and every customer taken care of in that Drive Thru in 90 seconds or less. I’m not kidding. If we don’t make our goals and times, we get into trouble. First the managers get yelled at and they take it out on us. If you must talk on your cell phone, finish the conversation before you hit the Drive Thru, or tell them you’ll call back. I’ve had it where people left the speaker they were so into their phone call that they didn’t hear me try to confirm what they just said and then get mad at me at the window because I had the nerve to not finish their order and to ask them what it was again. And one of my major pet peeves is repetition. I can’t stand repeating myself and i can’t stand making others do it. So don’t make me! It’s a waste of time!
  4. Don’t pick on your Drive Thru people. You don’t know if they have had to deal with all kinds of bullshit before you. And we don’t like lashing out at customers (well, most of us). But you may end up on the wrong end of an attitude if you start picking on or joking around with us. We try to be nice and polite, but there is just so much we can take. And if we ask you if you are finished with your order, don’t say yeah and then add something right then, or say, you were kidding. You will have a disgruntled cashier and sandwhich make on your hands. My husband is notorious for having fun at the Drive Thru’s expense and I yell at him. I don’t like it. I find it to be a waste of time and when it comes to service times and customer care there is no room for it. I do strike up a short conversation with some of my regulars and we make joke and stuff, but that’s when we aren’t busy and not a lot of pressure on us at the time. And they understand that when we are busy, I don’t have time to play around.
  5. Don’t try to hand us Canadian money and expect us to take it. Well, foreign money. We had somebody (a ditzy blonde) take Korean money before thinking they were quarters. I do know what a lot of money from other countries looks like. I also know what US currency looks like and how it feels and how much it weighs in your hand. I had one joker try to hand me nothing but Canadian coins and I handed them right back. He wasn’t happy, but I wasn’t in the mood to get yelled at by my manager for letting my drawer get short. The bank wont take that stuff in the deposits for some reason.
  6. If you must pay with nothing but coins, go inside. Stay away from the Drive Thru. And if you still come through, don’t ask us to sit there and count it out. Especially if you just handed us $10 worth in a mix of coins. And DO NOT give us rolled coins. We’ve had problems when people take them, crack ’em open and we have a real coin on each end of the roll and fake shit in the center. I wont take them and if the customer gets bitchy about it I go ahead and crack it open there and count it out by hand and make them wait. Yes, I have. I refused to let the next window hand out the food because the customer didn’t feel like waiting for me to get done. I can loose my job for letting my drawer go short. So don’t mind me if I do little things like that to keep it.
  7. The Drive Thru is not a bank. It’s one thing if you ask us for a few ones or something when it is coming out of the change we are handing you back. BUT when you hand us a twenty and want change back, I will not do it. Main reason is, again, we are not a bank. The second reason is if you are not careful when this happens, you could be swindled by the customer. So if you are told we cannot do it, don’t get mad or argue. Most places will, but if you look at their cash policies and register polices a little closer (like ours) its not allowed.
  8. We are not a trash can. And this is from the Health Department. We’ve lost points during an inspection due to this. If you do not see a trash can outside for the Drive Thru, I’m sorry. That’s the fault of our home office. Not ours. DO NOT ask us to throw your shit away. You should already have a trash bag in your vehicle for such cases. The Health Department frowns on this because of possible cross contamination. you make think you are clean, but you may not be as clean as you hoped, and could spread germs this way. So if you get told no, don’t get made. And DO NOT throw it out into our drive way and parking lot. That’s just rude and moronic.
  9. If you have a large order, containing more than ten things, go inside. This is a courtesy to your fellow customers. Large orders with twenty or more things, well, they kind of slow things down. And with massive orders (totalling around 40 + bucks) should really be called in. This helps to ensure you get your order with fresh product and that everyone else can too and no body has to wait very long.
  10. Multiple orders. I hate these. I really do. Our policy states that it is up to the manager to decide how many multiple orders are too many. But use common sense. If you come through the Drive Thru with six SEPARATE orders, are you being a pain and impeding everyone else’s ability to get their food? Especially if it’s a huge order. Also, let us know first thing BEFORE you order that you have more than one. And give us a second to confirm that with you. This allows us to minimize confusion and guarantees you get your order right.
  11. If someone messed up your order, call the store or go back as soon as you are able to. Let the manager know. Don’t complain to us the next time you come through. We cannot do anything about it then. It is to the point right now where we are unable to replace any forgotten food or messed up food without a phone call shortly after its discovered or a quick visit back. The quick visit is not always possible and we do feel bad when it happens, which is why we endorse the phone call. You call, talk to the manager (NO ONE ELSE) and they have a special book they write these down in. So if you request or the manager offers to replace the food, it’s recorded with your name and next time you stop by, its taken care of. This also minimizes the possibility of people trying to steal food from us. Yes, people to do try to pull that one on us.
  12. Treat us as you would want us to treat you. You come at us with a nasty attitude, expect one in return. And as you expect us to remember you make mistakes or forget something, we do the same thing from time to time. Don’t get pissy if we forget one things or misunderstand you. This is where you contacting the manager if there is a problem is so important. And this also ties into #11. If you don’t call or stop and talk to the manager, especially if it is about repeat problems, the problems cannot be fixed. If there is someone there handling your order and they always mess it up, and you call and let us know, that person wont be there for long. TRUST ME. When you work Drive Thru you cannot stand wasting time and people who mess up orders waste our time just as much as yours. We often have to remake the order in the middle of the new orders being taken and it slows things down. So please, let us know, and often. This way it will help us to weed out the wastes of space that like to work with us.

Ok, that is a brief version. Yes, there is more, but I’d have to write a book, and I already have several in the works ;). That and I have to get going. We have a few meetings today here at home and I need to make sure this place is in one piece. And I need to do a workout. And I have more Red vs Blue to re-watch :).

2 thoughts on “Shameless Plug :D.

    1. Thank you! That day was not one of my best to be sure. I think I do have a subscription link… but I’m still learning all the neat things one can do with WordPress, so I’m still a bit of newb around here.

Leave a Reply

