A bit of a problem

As most of you know we’ve had one of our official outdoor kitties inside with us, due to her having given birth to kittens almost two weeks ago. It had been working out ok, with the others either accepting or ignoring her. The dogs adore Zombie (yes, her real name). Her sister Tux is the light of Hubby’s eye and so Tux has enjoyed having her litter mate inside. Needless to say Youngest has loved the fact that Zombie and her Horde are inside.

Well, over the past few days we’ve been seeing the tension raising in ALL the cats. And the sad part is that Zombie is the main instigator. She’s been going after the others, except for Trouble, who in the house is the undisputed Queen of the animals. Trouble on the other hand had enough of her BS and went after her today. Zombie has been jumping the others left and right it seems and I’ve been wracking my brain as to why. Is she thinking she’s a permanent inside kitty? If she is, I hate informing her that shortly after the kitties are gone (we’ve found a definite home for one and tentative for the other two) she’s back out the door. We’ll still keep an eye on her, etc, but this is too much even for us. If we had the space and she didn’t feel the need to go after the others, we might let her stay inside. Sadly, I don’t think this will end well for her. Zombie is used to the way things are in the outside world, and she’s one of the top kitties there. In here, she’s the underdog, and therefor she feels the need to assert herself.

Hubby and I both are torn up about it. We love this little Zombie, and are getting attached to her and the Horde. I really hate giving the babies up, but it will be better for the house as a whole. I can’t wait till the kittens are old enough to leave her.

In other news, I’ve been sick the past two days, thanks to Youngest. Thursday night she was hit by a stomach bug and was kind enough to share it with me. That was so sweet of her. It sucked. I didn’t have it as bad as her, but it sure felt that way. We laid down together last night watching the Strangerhood. That was nice.

Oh, I almost forgot! The names of the kittens! We have Smoker, Tank and Ghost. We figured since momma’s name is Zombie it was only fitting. The first two come from the Zombie video game Left 4 Dead and the Youngest wanted to name the third Ghost. It was going to be called Hunter, from the game as well.

We watched Up today. I had a hard time with it. It wasn’t a bad movie, but the old man in it was what made it so difficult to watch. Him and that house. Reminded me too much of my Dad. Yes, there were tears shed, and it soured the movie for me, but it was still good. Have to agree with Hubby though, Best Picture material? No. Not by a long shot.

Well, I guess it’s time to start getting ready for dinner and then the week. Hubby and Youngest are on Spring Break this week. Mine starts in about three weeks. Cannot wait. I will need that break in a huge way. Wish it was now, but… Too much is going on at work right now. Ok, I’m off.

Leave a Reply

